Whitegrove Primary

SWGfL Report Harmful Content

about our EYFS curriculum

At Whitegrove Primary School, our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Unit will be following the new ‘The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework 2021’ which sets out the learning and development stages for children from birth to five years.

In following the EYFS framework, we aim to provide a broad, balanced and differentiated curriculum which addresses the children‘s social, emotional, physical, intellectual, moral and cultural development within a safe, secure and stimulating environment.

Our curriculum enables the child to learn and develop skills, attitudes and understanding in seven areas of learning:

The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal, Emotional and Social Development (PSED) 

  • Communication and Language (CL) 

  • Physical Development (PD) 

The Specific Areas are:

  • Mathematics 

  • Literacy 

  • Understanding the World 

  • Expressive Art and Design 

The Characteristics of Effective Learning

The Characteristics of Effective Learning are a key element in the EYFS. They detail the ways in which children should be learning from their environment, experiences and activities. They are: 

  • Playing and exploring - children investigate, learn from play experiences and ‘have a go’.   
  • Active learning  - children are involved and concentrate, show resilience with challenges and enjoy their achievements. 
  • Creating and thinking critically - children explore ideas, make links and choose strategies for doing things.  


At the end of the EYFS each child will be assessed against 17 key areas called the Early Learning Goals (ELG). 

The Parents' Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework gives further information.